Just like in your business, certain people have certain responsibilities. So it makes sense that not every employee should have full access to everything you can do in ClockShark. For example, a field supervisor probably needs to see their team’s schedules and be able to edit them, but a new crewman doesn’t. That’s where roles and manager permissions come in. You can use them to make sure the right people have the right responsibilities in ClockShark.
Table of Contents
Understanding roles in ClockShark
The administrator role:
Administrators have full access to system features and control over other employees. This includes adding or removing employees, viewing and editing timesheets, creating schedules, billing customers, managing integrations, and editing company settings. Administrators also have access to all employees regardless of the employee's assigned department or location.
The employee role:
By default, employees can only clock in and out on the app, see their timesheets and schedules, and see customers, jobs, and tasks they have access to. But you can choose to let them do more. You can even assign them manager permissions so they can edit and approve their team’s timesheets, clock them in and out, and manage their time off requests. We’ll discuss the manager permissions below. To learn more about other permissions you can grant them, read our Adding Employees article here.
How to change someone's role:
Visit the Employees page and click the edit icon to the right of the employee you want to edit. You can also set an employee’s role when you first add them.
Understanding manager permissions
Manager permissions are available on the Standard and Pro plans. You can grant them to anyone you assign the role of an employee in ClockShark. When you do assign them, the employee will have access to specific management functions related to other employees' timesheets and schedules.
In the example below, Brent Burns manages Joe Pavelski and Steve Rogers at our company, Commercial Contractors, Inc. We thought about assigning him the role of administrator but decided not to because we don’t want him to be able to edit our company settings. So, we assigned him the role of the employee instead. But because he’s a manager in our company, we want to give him some manager permissions so he can do his job effectively. You can see he manages Joe Pavelski and Steve Rogers and we’ve given him permission to view and edit their schedules and timesheets.
If you decide to give an employee Manager Permissions, you’ll assign them a team of employees. Choose to give them manager permissions over everyone, only certain people, or everyone except certain people. Here’s a list of permissions you can give them:
Edit Schedules: This employee will be able to edit their team members’ schedules on the mobile app and website.
Note: While this user can schedule anyone on their team, they can only schedule jobs they have access to.
CrewClock™: This employee can use the CrewClock™ feature to clock their team in and out and start and end breaks.
Edit Timesheets: This employee will be able to view and edit their team’s timesheets and can export timesheets for payroll via integrations.
Note: If you want this employee to only edit their own timesheets, then do not check this box. Instead, check the box titled, "Edit and add time to their own timesheets," found in the Timesheets on Mobile App section of the Employee Settings page.
Approve Timesheets: This employee can approve their team members’ time.
Manage Time Off: This employee can manage their team’s paid time off (PTO) requests. This includes being able to approve/decline requests, create new requests, and also view approved time off, pending time off, past time off, and declined time off.
View Schedules: This employee can view their teams’ schedules but cannot edit them.
View Who's Working Now: This employee can view the Who's Working Now page to see where their team is during the workday.
View Timesheets: This employee can view their timesheet and their team’s timesheets in full on the website and mobile app (including edits, locations, notes, etc.).
Note: Employees can already view their timesheets in full on the mobile app by default but can only see totals by day and week on the website unless this option is checked.
View Reports: This employee can run reports for their team.
If you update your employee’s settings, they must sync their mobile app before the changes will take effect. They can do this in the app by tapping the Menu icon in the top left of the screen, tapping Sync, and then tapping the Sync Now button.
Have a question?
Contact customer support to learn more. We’re happy to help!